Skip navigation links
About UsExpand About Us
Academic AssistanceExpand Academic Assistance
Academic DepartmentsExpand Academic Departments
ActivitiesExpand Activities
AdministrationExpand Administration
AthleticsExpand Athletics
BookstoreExpand Bookstore
Cafeteria
Calendar and Schedule
GuidanceExpand Guidance
LibraryExpand Library
NurseExpand Nurse
Staff Search
Social WorkExpand Social Work
Student PublicationsExpand Student Publications
Student Support and Resources
Summer School
Search Center
Dream Deferred Presentation
Graduation
Registering a Student

 Dream Deferred Conference - 2012

     

On behalf of Hinsdale South High School (Darien, IL), thank you for attending our presentation, "From Engagement to Empowerment - A Holistic Approach to African-American Student Achievement" at Dream Deferred, 2012!  We hope you enjoyed your time with us, as well as your time at the conference!

We are excited to be able to share the work that we do with other schools and we invite you to contact us at (630) 468-4210 (or using the e-mail addresses below) at anytime with questions.  In addition, there are supplemental resources posted below related to the programs and initiatives that we discussed during our presentation.

At Hinsdale South, we recognize Accountability, Respect, and Engagement as the core principles to exhibit in Hornet Nation, and it is our hope that each of the programs that we presented emphasize these beliefs in our students, staff, and community!

Dr. Brian Waterman, Principal (bwaterman@hindsale86.org)
Mrs. Arwen Pokorny Lyp, AP for Curriculum & Instruction (apokorny@hinsdale86.org
)
Mr. Alex Bitto, Dean of Students (abitto@hinsdale86.org
)
Mr. Michael Holland, Director of Guidance (mholland@hinsdale86.org
)
Mr. Matt Guritz, Social Studies Department Chairman (mguritz@hinsdale86.org
)
Mrs. Lisa Elo, Tier 2 Coordinator and Academic Reading Teacher (lelo@hinsdale86.org
)
Ms. Ayesha Truman, Excel Program Coordinator (atruman@hinsdale86.org
)
Mrs. Denise Verdun, Community Liaison (dverdun@hinsdale86)

 

 

 

 Advanced Placement Innovation

rise letter and response sheet 2011-2012.docxrise letter and response sheet 2011-2012Guritz,Matt

 Community Liason

Job Description (Community Liason).docxJob Description (Community Liason)Waterman,Brian
A Call for Engagement Agenda.docxA Call for Engagement AgendaWaterman,Brian
A Call for Engagement Flyer.docxA Call for Engagement FlyerWaterman,Brian

 Hornet Habits/PBIS

Student Behavior Mgt Flow Chart (Hinsdale South).docxStudent Behavior Mgt Flow Chart (Hinsdale South)Waterman,Brian
Teacher vs Office Managed Behavior Chart.docxTeacher vs Office Managed Behavior ChartWaterman,Brian
RTI Presentation (Hinsdale South).pptxRTI Presentation (Hinsdale South)Waterman,Brian
Overview of HSHS PBIS Implementation.pptxOverview of HSHS PBIS ImplementationWaterman,Brian

 Excel Program/Additional Supports

Off-Site Excel Open House invite.docOff-Site Excel Open House inviteTruman,Ayesha
Off-Site Excel enrollment form.docOff-Site Excel enrollment formTruman,Ayesha
Excel Parent-Student Compact 2011-2012.docxExcel Parent-Student Compact 2011-2012Truman,Ayesha
Problem Solving Team.docxProblem Solving TeamHolland,Michael

 Tier 1/2 Academic Programs

ACT's Reasonable Growth Study.pdfACT's Reasonable Growth StudyPokorny Lyp,Arwen

 General Presentation Resources

Dream Deferred 2012.pptxDream Deferred 2012Waterman,Brian
Hinsdale South High School | 7401 S. Clarendon Hills Road | Darien, Illinois 60561 | Phone: (630) 468-4000 | Attendance Line: (630) 468-4555