Skip navigation links
Art
Business
Deaf & Hard of Hearing
English
Family & Consumer Science
Foreign Languages
Mathematics
Music
PE Health & Drivers Education
Science
Social Studies
Special Education
Technology Education

 Social Studies Department

Matthew Guritz
Department Chair Social Studies
Hinsdale South High School Room 351
7401 S. Clarendon Hills Road
Darien, Illinois 60561
Phone: 630-468-4540   
Email: mguritz@hinsdale86.org
Peggy Cozzolino
Adminstrative Assistant
Phone: 630-468-4471   
Email: pcozzoli@hinsdale86.org
 
Department Chair Social Studies

 Social Studies Vision

For students to develop as citizens, they must learn democratic values and practice democratic process skills that are appropriate for their age and maturity. Social studies courses teach students these essential values and skills. Additionally, students must be prepared for success in college and the work place through practice in data analysis, analytical writing, and development of presentation skills. Regardless of a student’s career and life choices, all students will deal with politics, cultural and religious differences, and social conflict on a daily basis. A strong social science education is vital for success in a diverse and rapidly changing society.

 Announcements

There are currently no active announcements.

 Social Studies Document Library

There are no items to show in this view of the "Documents" document library.

 Contacts

Barry,Michael630-468-4548mbarry@hinsdale86.org
Chavarria,Nicholas630-468-4549nchavarr@hinsdale86.orgWeb Site
Faeh,Paul630-468-4554pfaeh@hinsdale86.orgWeb Site
Guritz,Matt630-468-4540mguritz@hinsdale86.orgWeb Site
Kerzee-Stames,Cherie630-468-4545ckerzees@hinsdale86.orgWeb Site
Lencioni,Kathy630-468-4542klencion@hinsdale86.orgWeb Site
McCormack,Russelrmccorma@hinsdale86.org
Moretti,Michael630-468-4553mmoretti@hinsdale86.orgWeb Site
Nelson,Martin630-468-4544mnelson@hinsdale86.orgWeb Site
Polacek,Emily630-468-4543epolacek@hinsdale86.orgWeb Site
Proutsos,Michelle630-468-4541mproutso@hinsdale86.orgWeb Site
Rasavongxay,Billson630-468-4450brasavon@hinsdale86.orgWeb Site
Ritter,David630-468-4550dritter@hinsdale86.orgWeb Site
Van Hout,Kelly630-468-4546kvanhout@hinsdale86.orgWeb Site
Waterman,Jeff630-468-4547jwaterma@hinsdale86.orgWeb Site

 Quick Links

There are currently no favorite links to display.

 Frequently Asked Questions

There are no items to show in this view of the "Frequently Asked Questions" discussion board.
Hinsdale South High School | 7401 S. Clarendon Hills Road | Darien, Illinois 60561 | Phone: (630) 468-4000 | Attendance Line: (630) 468-4555